1 star: Bad

NO Delivery of the Mattress

I just ordered the Emma Mattress and there is no Delivery at all. Both sides are finger pointing to each other. GLS is saying that EMMA asked them to return the parcel back to Germany, EMMA is saying that they never asked GLS to send it back. When I asked what the options are, they mentioned that there is NO PROCEDURE how to handle these things, so they do not know. Complete waste of time and money! When it said that I am willing to pick-up the parcel @ the parcel center where it shows stored, GLS refused to give it to me, saying, that it is on the way back.
I do not think customers should pay for the troubles these 2 parties has between them!

2 stars: Poor

Matrass not delivered at my home, but somewhere in Germany.. :/

I ordered an Emma Matrass may 27, we live in Gouda, but the matrass was delivered in Alsdorf Germany. I tried to contact Emma via the website, via Facebook, and via Instagram, but no response yet. Please send my matrass to my home in stead of somewhere in the middle of nowhere in Germany, Thank you..

5 stars: Excellent

Excellent mattress

Excellent mattress. Sturdy and comfortable.

Reply from Emma Sleep
We are happy with your positive words, thank you!
5 stars: Excellent

PRODUCT IS SIMPLY GOOD AND IS/DOES WHAT…

PRODUCT IS SIMPLY GOOD AND IS/DOES WHAT THEY SAY IT WOULD

Reply from Emma Sleep
We are happy with your positive words, thank you!
1 star: Bad

Unacceptable delivery

Ordered the Original Bed from Emma NL more than a month ago.
The mattress which is delivered separately was returned to Emma directly from the courier company in 2 occasions with no attempt of delivery.
The call centre confirms delivery for a third attempt but still no mattress on the day.
Repeated calls to the call centre either results in no records of my previous conversation I have to start the process again.
No one takes responsibility to explain what has happened or solve this issue

Reply from Emma Sleep
Thank you for your signals, this should have gone better of course!
1 star: Bad

Two orders, no delivery - waste of time

Two orders, both sent back to Germany by the courier. No explanation - and many other reviews stating the same problem.

Reply from Emma Sleep
Dear Steve, thank you for your feedback! Unfortunately your order has been returned to sender by the courier, which is not allowed by our internal agreements with them. We regret this very much. As a result, I have immediately ordered a new mattress for you and this is expected to be delivered to you within a few working days. I hope you can be patient a little bit longer, so that you can enjoy a wonderful night's sleep. My apologies for the inconvenience caused!
1 star: Bad

Pathetic delivery service, doesn’t recommend

Ordered an Box springs with mattress on March 10, 2021.Initially Box Springs and Mattress was supposed to delivered on 30th April 2021 but its already 2nd June 2021 no updates on when it will be delivered .Custom care is pathetic as they have no clue when the order will be delivered they just give a standard reply it will be delivered in 14 working days. Frustrating. Perhaps this review will draw attention to our order? Wouldn't recommend anyone to buy a mattress from this company.

Reply from Emma Sleep
Thanks for your feedback! I have checked for you and seen that we are working very hard internally to make sure that your bed will be delivered on short notice. My apologies for the inconvenience caused!
1 star: Bad

DONOT pay EMMA MATRASSEN in advance

DONOT pay EMMA MATRASSEN in advance

I buy on 27 april and request not to send by BRT/Bartolini/DPD a local courier , but Emma can only send by BRT , goods should arrive 29th april but we I refuse as BRT take 4 days longer and very irritating .
The good refused 3rd may and request for repayment of my €602 - Today more than 3weeks later , 24th may IT IS STILL UNRECEIVED
It looks like cheating with creditcards
You cannot trust Emma Matratze
You cannot pay with Paypal because they donot refund via Paypal (I donot understand why) and asking your IBAN , but money doesnot arrive there too. Maybe they have excellent materials but DONOT pay EMMA MATRASSI in advance , maybe after your receiving your items but donot pay as deposit.

Reply from Emma Sleep
Dear Paul, thank you for your feedback! As you placed your order with Emma in Italy, I can't help you and would like to ask you to contact the customer service of Emma-Italy, they will be happy to help you!
5 stars: Excellent

In net begin even wennen maar na een…

In net begin even wennen maar na een dikke 2 weken slaap je top !

Reply from Emma Sleep
Fijn dat je zo blij met Emma bent!
5 stars: Excellent

Top matras

Top matras. Top levering

Reply from Emma Sleep
Wij zijn blij met jouw positieve woorden, dank je wel!
4 stars: Great

I like the product and the quality is…

I like the product and the quality is very good. Maybe it is a little expensive.

Reply from Emma Sleep
Thanks for the 4 stars!
1 star: Bad

Shame on you

3 order, no delivery, lier customer care. I have no clue about the mattress because it is not delivered :) All my complaining about their stupid service.

We bought a mattress with a 5-8 days delivery option. We got an email with a tracking number. We had started to track it.

The mattress came to NL and then all of a sudden it went back to DE.

2 weeks had already passed. We called customer service. They had no clue. In the first call, they said they will call us back. No one called, of course :) We tried to call them. We waited on call for 50 mins, no one answers. We tried to chat. Fortunately, some answered but still no clue. It was on Monday, We asked what was happening. They said: "we should wait till the end of the week. If we don't have an email, we should call back again". Of course, they think that the time of the people is worthless!! We canceled the order.
My lovely wife said we can buy the same mattress via Beter Bed (I have no clue also why Beter Bed works with Emma, they just need to check Trustpilot :) ). We bought the same mattress via Beter Bed.

I think you can guess. It came to NL and all of a sudden it returned back to DE.

After many calls to Beter Bed, we got another mail which says our mattress shipped us again.

Still, you can guess :)) it came to NL and returned back to DE.

The first one was a bad luck
The second one was Emma's fault
But I am pretty sure all of them was my mistake because I had trusted to Emma.

I took my lesson.

PLEASE DON'T BUY ANYTHING FROM THAT COMPANY!!!
with all my love :) ❤️

Reply from Emma Sleep
Thank you for your feedback. You are absolutely right that we should have arranged the transport better. We are working very hard internally to find a solution so that we will not have this problem again in the future. My apologies for the inconvenience caused!
5 stars: Excellent

De TOP MATRAS LICHT FANTASTISCH

De TOP MATRAS LICHT FANTASTISCH,
BLIJ DAT WE HEM HEBBEN.

Reply from Emma Sleep
Wij zijn blij met jouw positieve woorden, dank je wel!
3 stars: Average

Emma mattress 180x200

Had delivery issue with DPD but Client service from Emma assisted me very well. Mattress was packed nicely, unfortunately it’s a bit on the hard side for me.

Reply from Emma Sleep
Thanks for your feedback! But please do get in touch with our customer service, because if you find the mattress a bit too hard, we will be happy to think of a solution!
1 star: Bad

Such a waste of time

Such a waste of time. Incredibly poor customer services. Have been incontact with them multiple times, always been reassured our mattras was on its way, or re-ordered as it was send back to Germany 3 times due to package size. NO solution thusfar, still waiting for our matras for weeks and weeks.

Reply from Emma Sleep
Dear MG. Thank you for your feedback on the delivery. We will do everything we can to ensure that you receive your mattress as soon as possible. My apologies for the inconvenience caused!
5 stars: Excellent
Reply from Emma Sleep
Dank je wel, dit horen we graag!
1 star: Bad

For the love of god do not buy your bed…

For the love of god do not buy your bed here

Ordered a bed it took 2 months of them delaying and lying to me before they let me know that I couldn't order it anymore. Was offered a discount on another bed, then another colleague cancelled this offer. Then they said they can refund me, takes 14 business days.........

Reply from Emma Sleep
Dear Seb. Thanks for your feedback. I'm very sorry to read that the delivery of your ordered bed caused so many problems. Unfortunately, we have not been able to solve these problems in the short term and you have therefore decided to return the bed. Our customer service team is already in contact with you and will complete the return process as soon as possible. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact our customer service team. They will be happy to help you.
4 stars: Great

Prima matras

Prima matras, levertijd was langer dan in de communicatie

Reply from Emma Sleep
Dankjewel voor het geven van 4 sterren! Goed punt dat je eerder een bericht had willen ontvangen van de vertraagde levering. Dit zullen wij op gaan pakken.
5 stars: Excellent
Reply from Emma Sleep
Dank je wel voor je mooie beoordeling! Daar doen we het voor!
5 stars: Excellent

Perfect

Perfect en snelle levering

Reply from Emma Sleep
Dank je wel, dit horen we graag!