5 stars: Excellent

Perfect

Perfect and very fast service

1 star: Bad

There isn’t a word strong enough that I…

There isn’t a word strong enough that I can put on here that describes how I feel about this company. The one thing in life that gets my blood boiling is being ripped off. They can have 5 stars for that, they did a great job!! Nearly had to pay the full years insurance after trying to cancel it when I’d only had the renewal for 3 weeks. They wouldn’t change it over. Then to add insult to injury quoted me twice the amount of anywhere else for the new vehicle. Who keeps an eye on what these companies charge or can they make their own rules! Shameless!!

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Good afternoon.
Thank you for your review.
Full details of the charges for cancellation can be found in our terms of business.
I have, however, sent you a message so I can look into this further for you.
Kind regards,
Harry
1 star: Bad

So far I have found the experience very…

So far I have found the experience very disappointing. Thought I was insuring through Churchill and find I am with a very disorganised organisation. Very poor communication god help me if I have to make a claim !

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Good afternoon.
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
I have passed on your feedback.
Kind regards,
Harry.
1 star: Bad

Never again

Never again, 2 hrs to get through to discuss changing policy to partners name who already named on policy,end up cancelling paying £134 cancellation and going elsewhere
Reply to Harry ,
I asked for a new policy but was taken down the garden path so to speak.
All’s well that ends well , took all of 10 min to sort out with new insurer,not hrs to get through and past around.
As I say never again

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Steve.
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We can not change a policy holders name through a mid-term adjustment. This can only be done through cancelling and setting up a new policy.
Kind regards,
Harry.
1 star: Bad

Used Brightside Insurance to insure my…

Used Brightside Insurance to insure my car for just short of 2 years. Warning to all members of HM armed forces. I was assigned abroad before my insurance was due to end having paid upfront: I therefore cancelled my policy and was charged 60 pounds to do so negating any rebate. I have another car, that I also had to sell due to assignment and the insurer waived the admin fee. I consulted with Brightside and was told that not one but two "managers" had declined the waiving of the admin fee. Goskippy were excellent, Brightside were disappointing. Joanne's response is clearly missing my point; Goskippy have the same T&Cs as Brightside but they waived the admin fee due to my unforseen circumstances in the service of my country. You won't be getting my business further.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Cameron,
Thanks for the review.
When cancelling a policy you will be charged for the time you have had on cover, a £60 cancellation fee, commission in full and the cost of any extensions purchased. This is outlined in our Terms of Business.
Kind regards
Joanne
1 star: Bad

Brightside want £35 admin fee to make a…

Brightside want £35 admin fee to make a change to policy - even banks only charge £12

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Marsha,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As outlined in our terms of business any change made mid term will result in an administration fee of £35.
Kind regards,
Joanne
1 star: Bad

AVOID AVOID AVOID!!!!!!

This will be my final review on this shower called Brightside. I will now let you know how this shocking experience concluded.
Eventually, after countless calls and emails, Brightside agreed to discount the £317.70 cancellation charge by £100.00. Don't forget everybody, they hit me with this charge after I had lost my job (due to Covid) and therefore had to get rid of my car (because I could no longer afford it) and subsequently had to cancel my car insurance.
They told me categorically they would not pass the cancellation charge debt to a Debt Collection agency for 30 days, this was because I had told them I was receiving emails from them telling me I had 7 days to pay the money or it would be passed to a debt collection agency.
Anyway, they discounted the charge by £100.00 and agreed with my offer of 10 monthly installments for the balance. I fought to get this payment plan and as a result of my Trustpilot reviews, felt they had no choice (I think).
So they've agreed to this discount and the payment plan, they also agreed when I could make the first payment. Between them agreeing this and me making the first monthly installment, I began to receive threatening text messages and emails from ICB Limited, guess what, they are a debt collection Company and Brightside had passed my debt over to them, despite them saying they wouldn't (for 30 days) and despite them agreeing a discounted amount and a payment plan!
All in all, this Company are a disgrace, everybody has been helping everybody throughout this Covid nightmare, unfortunately the Brightside sharks prefer to make a profit from peoples misfortune, they are a disgrace and I would urge you not to use this Company. I have already shared this experience with every business contact I have in my email address book and take pleasure in telling you that (as of 21.04.21) 29 yes TWENTY NINE Company Directors I have known for several years have emailed or telephoned me to tell me they have Policies with Brightside and they are not going to renew them. I have also had 33 emails telling me Brightside are now black listed within their Companies. This is great, really great. They've managed to gain little over £200.00 from me and it has cost them, without doubt, tens of thousands in lost business, and when you see how many people have read my reviews there could be dozens and dozens of other people and / or Companies that have opted not to use Brightside.
It gets better, I also received a job offer, Marketing Director of 'thegymbear.co.uk', which I have now started, AND my new employer has paid me the money Brightside charged me for cancelling the Policy, things couldn't better. One of the Directors of The Gym Bear read my reviews and managed to contact me, I told them my professional history, one thing led to another and I have a job again. I also have a new car and guess who I've NOT insured it with. My life is now back on track.
What bad judgement by Brightside, short sighted, greedy, terribly badly judged and in the current 'situation' we all find ourselves in, incredibly bad policy. Thank God for Trustpilot, this great site means Companies can get their comeuppance when they treat people badly!
I wish all the readers all the very best and hope the Covid nightmare isn't affecting you too badly.
DON'T USE BRIGHTSIDE people.
One last thing, I know they will add their version of events to this review, what I have written is true and factual and I can prove it all.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Nigella,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are sorry you are unhappy with the service we have provided, in line with our Terms of Business.
Kind regards,
Harry.
Only the latest review will count in the company's TrustScore
2 stars: Poor

Untrustworthy

I used Brightside to find a new car insurance quote, managed to get a policy set up and the payment would not process. So I called them to set up a policy, all sorted.

1 week later I get a text asking to call them because there has been a problem with payment. So I called and the guy I spoke to said that he had “attached the payment to the account, so its all sorted now”

Another week later and my payment has been refunded. So I called again, luckily I spoke to someone who got everything sorted out and confirmed the guy I spoke to had not attached the payment to the account. She however got everything sorted. Her name is Lexi and she is the only reason why I have not gone somewhere else for insurance, which is what I’ll do next year, since I’ve been messed around so much.

To top everything off, they spelt my first name wrong so I never got any email contact until now. My name is Alex...They spelt Alex wrong.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Alex,
Thanks for leaving us a review. I apologise that we had a system issue relating to the payment of your policy. I am pleased to hear that this issue was sorted, all your information is now correct and you were happy with the customer service Lexi provided you to sort out the issue.
Kind regards
Joanne
1 star: Bad

Worst insurance company I’ve ever been…

Worst insurance company I’ve ever been with and absolute money robbers.

They charge you for everything, surprised they do not charge you to breathe ... their admin charges are ridiculous too.

I was with them for a year and they sent me my renewal which was £25 more expensive. They were asking for £95 A MONTH. I ended up going with another insurance which only charged £40.

They have the worst customer service and I just really wanted to warn people so that they do not make the same mistake as I did.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Daniela,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
As outlined in our terms of business any change made mid-term will result in an administration fee of £35.
We work with our underwriters to give our customers the best price. Ultimately, the premium we offer you is determined by the Underwriter and not us as a broker.
We are really sorry that on this occasion your renewal price wasn’t lower.
Kind regards
Joanne
1 star: Bad

Not recommended

I would pay a little extra and go with a better-known company.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Enayath,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
I have sent you a message to provide some further details so I can look into this for you.
Kind regards
Joanne
1 star: Bad

Exceptionally bad customer service - DO NOT BUY FROM THEM

it has now been 4 days since i am trying to call them to find out about their Windscreen policy, some comments below show they are an exceptionally poor performing company when it comes to customer service, the reason they usually are the cheapest in price comparisons is because they really are a cheap company ( not good value) Cheap.

I sent an email 3 days a go and just got a automated reply, now i will have to call around to get quotes for a windscreen repair, ( a cost that my crappy insurance company should be covering as per our agreement)

my advice to any new customers thinking of using the, DONT read the comments on this site and just pay slightly more, i would be terrified if got into an accident and i had to deal with this unprofessional company

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Mr Khan.
Thank you for taking the time to speak to me over the phone today.
I am glad we were able to resolve your complaint.
Kind regards,
Harry.
2 stars: Poor

OK at outset, poor at conclusion

Fine, but beware of penalties that are charged for early cancellation....and don't expect them to credit you fast. They take your money straight away, but take their time giving any back.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Paul,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. As outlined in our Terms of Business at any point that you cancel your policy you will be charged for the time you have had on cover, a £60 cancellation fee, commission in full and the cost of any extensions purchased. I apologise if you didn’t receive your refund in the time scale provided. I have sent you a message for further information to look into if you are still waiting on your refund.
Kind regards
Joanne
4 stars: Great
1 star: Bad

Government do something about these crooks

I changed my car and got quoted double the price from similar car insurance companies, they refused to give me a competitive quote so I had no choice to cancel, they hit me with a huge unfair cancellation fee. Many threatening emails and letters have gone by and I will stand my ground and refuse to pay this ridiculously high cancellation fee.just like many other members of the public I have had enough of companies like brightside thinking they can charge whatever they like in unfair charges and deal with the situation by sending threatening letter after letter.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Good afternoon,
thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
The price for changes mid term are determined by our underwriter. As a broker we do charge an administration fee to make the change.
I’m sorry that the price you had wasn’t competitive on this occasion.
A cancellation fee is applied if you no longer wish to continue your policy with us. Full details of the fees applied are available in our Terms of Business
We trust this clarifies matters for you.
Kind regards,
Harry.
1 star: Bad

Do not join this company

Do not join this company. I have just been charged £35 when I informed them that I had moved house.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Andrea,
thank you for your review.
As outlined in our terms of business any change made mid term will result in an administration fee of £35.
Kind regards,
Harry.
1 star: Bad

Poor experience as they did not take…

Poor experience as they did not take into account an additional payment that I had made when I cancelled the policy. Probably lost £40.00 as a result.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Brian,
thank you for your review.
All payments are taken into consideration. Should a further payment be taken, we will recalculate any outstanding balance or refund due
Kind regards,
Harry
5 stars: Excellent

Quick and easy to set up took money…

Quick and easy to set up took money when they should have no problems

Only the latest review will count in the company's TrustScore
1 star: Bad

Oh look me again writing bad review for…

Oh look me again writing bad review for this lazy horrible company. Requested to cancel my policy on 29th of march via email and today is 2nd of April still haven't received any news back. Send so many chase up emails and still got ignored. Surely they ignore me just because cancellation fee would be higher and then they could rip me off. Wow brightside carry on with your lazy customer service I'm sure you gonna go far. Applause to you.
I'd rather sell my soul to devil then stay with this company any longer!!!!!

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Raimonda,
thank you for leaving us a review.
At any point that you cancel you will be charged for the time you have had on cover, a £60 cancellation fee, commission in full and the cost of any extensions purchased.
I have sent you a message requesting some details so I can look into this for you.
Kind regards,
Harry.
Only the latest review will count in the company's TrustScore
1 star: Bad

Shocking and really negative…

Shocking and really negative experience. The costs levied against me for cancelling a policy! £60 cancellation fee?? I have cancelled policies before and never have the fees been this high. All in all, after paying my premium prior to cancelling £58, I still had to pay an additional £80 plus pounds to cancel.

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Good morning,
thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
As outlined in our Terms of Business a £60 cancellation fee will be applied when a policy is cancelled. Further details of our fees are available on our website.
Kind regards,
Harry.
1 star: Bad

Beware wgen doing comparison quotes

I've been doing quote on confused and compare the market.
Then I got emails saying thank you for taking car insurance out with us, and the close brothers finance contract, thank you for electronically signing!
I've not agreed to anything
I've rang them up and they said it's because I already have insurance with them so it's automatically renewed, yet I'm with Tesco car insurance? Apparently I'm double insured, but they can't give me any details? Really doesn't make an sence and no help as they can't tell you any information. No payments coming out of my bank previously for this company

Reply from Brightside Insurance
Hi Damo,
Thanks for leaving us a review.
I have now spoken to yourself and sorted out any issues. Thanks for taking the time to speak to me today.
Kind regards
Joanne